Tom Petty Has Been Haunting Me

Image is available for sale in poster size; please click on image to visit my Etsy page for details.

Image is available for sale in poster size; please click on image to visit my Etsy page for details.

I can’t honestly say I’ve been a lifelong Tom Petty fan. I’ve always enjoyed his music, to be sure,but until receSketchy Sketchntly he wasn’t on the top of my iPod playlist. However, a little over a year ago I had this idea for a photo / poster I wanted to create.  I sketched it out and left it in a notebook, and promptly forgot about it. Until about two months ago, when Tom Petty started haunting me. I mean, everywhere I turned, I started hearing Tom Petty music. I’d hear people refer to Tom Petty in conversation.   I even had a friend post something on Facebook about dreaming of Tom Petty.  I finally had to quiet the universe’s loud reminder by scheduling a photo session with one of my son’s friends who was kind enough to oblige my silly little vision.  And oblige she did. I love the way the final product turned out.  And as evidence, check out the original image I sketched back in 2011 (no laughing – there is a reason my art uses a camera, and not a pen):

Thank you Lauren – you were an awesome model and hopefully helped me chase away the living ghost of Tom Petty!  Now I need to go listen to Mary Jane’s Last Dance and just enjoy it rather than hearing it as a reprimand!

Leave a Reply

