Hide and Seek

I’ve decided to try something new. It’s called a 365 challenge.  The idea is that you join a group that offers prompts every day, inspiring a new photo and helping you learn a new technique, approach, vision – what have you.  I’m not exactly known for sticking to things like this over the long haul, but I know I want to give it a try because I’ve most definitely put in more than 365 consecutive days into trying to improve my photography.

Today’s prompt was “using your senses” and for whatever reason, the sense I couldn’t get out of my head was the sense of sound. How in the world does a photographer “capture” sound?  I asked that question of myself all day. I carried my camera with me while I ran errands, while I worked out and while I worked at home, trying to figure out the answer.  My girl ultimately provided me the inspiration. She came home from her first full day of Spanish class, where among other things, she learned how to say “dance” in Spanish. Well, that was it! Dancing!   So I dragged her mostly unwilling frame out to the studio and begged her to just try to feel the music for a bit.  Ultimately Imogen Heap’s “Hide and Seek” started playing, and she got caught up.  It’s a slow, steady, haunting sound – and she seemed to embody it perfectly.

I may not stick with this 365 days. Who knows? I might be lucky to get 65 days out of myself here. But at the very least, I’ll be learning something new every time I try. And I’m sure having fun … even if my poor daughter feels a bit tortured. (For the record: she really loved the way the photo turned out!)

365 Project: Use Your Senses

Hide and Seek

Leave a Reply

