The Meaning of Life

When I was in college, I had to write a paper for my Existential Philosophy class in which we answered the age-old question, “What is the meaning of life?” In my paper, I argued that the meaning of life was to MAKE meaning of life – something that I thought was incredibly prophetic for a 19-year old.

Now, despite fact that I was given a “C” on the paper from the professor-whose-name-I’ve conveniently-forgotten, I happen to still agree with my 19-year old self.

I’ve been trying to think about what it is I want this blog to stand for. I spend a lot of time reading other people’s blogs – many of them either talking about social media or photography. And I have been struggling to identify MY expertise. What can I share with my readers (whoever you are!) that might be of value?

I have many passions. My husband. My kids. The previously mentioned social media and photography. My family. My friends. Wine. (Notice how those last two seem to go hand-in-hand). Politics. Feminism. Music (listening, not playing). “The Office.” (Sad but true). Books. My husband’s racing. Landing a solid story placement for a client. More and more – cooking. Fortunately more and more, too – working out. And the list goes on and on …

This morning, it dawned on me that the common thread that runs through all of these passions is my love of LEARNING. I adore learning new things. I find it thrilling to see a challenge ahead of me, aim for it, and earn the right to say “I hit that mark, now let me set my sights on the next one.”

So, I’m cutting myself some slack. I’m not a social media expert, so I won’t pretend to be one. I’m not a professional photographer; so there goes that blog theme. I’m certainly not the world’s greatest parent, though I try. Instead, I’m going to allow my love of learning lead this blog. If I learn something new, or discover something exciting, or read something inspiring, and if I think it’s worth sharing, this is where it will happen.

I think I’m MAKING MEANING of my life by learning something new every day. And for that lesson, I’m giving myself an “A.”

Leave a Reply

