Falling Up

Just a few days ago, I posted a review of the book, “A Million Miles in a Thousand Years.” Since then, I’ve given a copy to Rick, a copy to my brother and his wife, a copy to my parents, and am about to send a copy to my best friend. But in addition to just reading and sharing this book, I’ve committed to putting the message to real practice in my life.

And today’s story is the one first of many I hope I can credit to the book.

It’s a simple one, honestly … but one until now that I’ve been too tired / too busy / too intimidated to tackle. So today, we convoyed with my brother and his family to Multnomah Falls. And the eight of us hiked the 1 1/2 mile narrow footpath to the top. It wasn’t the most gorgeous hike I’ve ever experienced. And it was raining, so it wasn’t even the most beautiful weather. But the experience – the time we shared as a family, the laughing we did, the pictures we took, the accomplishment of it all – that’s what we took home.

On our return trip, we stopped to share a delightful lunch with Mike & Shan and the kids at McMenamin’s Edgefield. While there, we watched a couple of women blowing glass; saw a bride just as she was ready to walk down the aisle; let the kids throw pebbles into a wine barrel … just little vignette moments that tend to imprint themselves on your brain.

I hope the kids look back at the memory of their first trip to Multnomah Falls and if nothing else, remember that they were surrounded by people who adored them, that they had fun, and that it was just one of the many adventures they’ve had in their lifetime.

Now on to the next adventure …

Leave a Reply

